Manitowoc County seniors win top honors at State Dairy Judging Contest

Now Media Group

Ninety youth competed at the State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest, which was held on July 18 in Black River Falls in conjunction with the State Ayrshire and Guernsey shows.

Ayrshire and Guernsey animals were pulled out of the show strings and Holstein, Brown Swiss, and Jersey cattle were trucked in from nearby farms to make classes for the contest. A huge thank you goes out to all of the Black River Falls area breeders who provided animals for the contest and to the Ayrshire and Guernsey breeders who welcomed the State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest to their show. Farms that provided animals for the contest were Wide Open Acres, Avon Road Jerseys, Pfaffsway Farms, Garden Valley Genetics, RoVin Acres, Table Rock Holsteins, Dream On Farm, Lazy M & Old Bankston Partnership, Lang Haven Farm and Valley Gem Farms.

Manitowoc County was the top overall and reasons team in the Senior division and will go on to represent Wisconsin in the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo. The Dodge County #No. 1 team took second place overall and will represent Wisconsin and compete at the All American in Harrisburg, PA.

Dawson Nickels from Dodge County was the high individual overall, and Brooke Roberts from Manitowoc County was the top reasons individual in the Senior division. The two swapped positions in the reasons contest with Brooke being the top senior reasons individual and Dawson coming in second in the reasons contest.

The top four individual seniors who were not on one of the first or second place teams will come together to form a team that will represent Wisconsin at the NAILE in Lousiville, KY. These four individuals are Kylie Nickels and Ben Buske from the Dodge County No. 2 team, Brianna Hall from Vernon County and Emma Olstad from Dane County.

In the Junior competition, Barron County won first team overall and was the top team in the Type Analysis Questions category. Madison Calvert of Lafayette County was the top individual and won the Type Analysis Questions category. Dunn County was the second high team in the Junior age division.

Top Five Junior Teams

1. Barron County: Zach Moret, Henry Huth, Justyne Frisle, Alleah Anderson

2. Dunn County: Abbie Powers, Ben Styer, Bailey Gilbertson, Chloe Dummer

3. Sheboygan County: Brady Bleck, Ava Booth, Ella Bindl, Dakota Kreisa

4. Lafayette County: Madison Calvert, Mckenzie Calvert, Payton Calvert

5. Rock County: Cody Baxter, Sara Kronberg, Emma Mcnally, Quincee Johnson

Top 15 Junior Individuals

1. Madison Calvert- Lafayette County

2. Zach Moret- Barron County

3. Henry Huth- Barron County

4. Sarah Hagenow- Columbia County

5. Brady Bleck- Sheboygan County

6. Megan Moede- Kewaunee County

7. Katrina Hoesly- Waushara County

8. Abbie Powers- Dunn County

9. Justyne Frisle- Barron County

10. Maclayne Gilson- Outagamie County

11. Alleah Anderson- Barron County

12. Ben Styer- Dunn County

13. Natalie Roe- Green County

14. Brynn Emory- Jefferson County

15. Natalie Mark- Pierce County

Top Five Senior Teams

1. Manitowoc County: Brooke Roberts, Vanessa Roberts, Jake Siemers, Jared Zutz

2. Dodge County #1: Dawson Nickels, Paul Grulke, Danielle Warmka, Sam Pitterle

3. St. Croix County: Eva Doornink, Derek Utecht, Austin Raymond, Ellis Frank

4. Pierce County: Rachel Coyne, Hannah Nelson, Paige Nelson

5. Shawano County: Jen Krull, Kaila Wussow, Emma Gwidt, Madelyn Gwidt

Top 15 Senior Individuals

1. Dawson Nickels - Dodge County #1

2. Kylie Nickels - Dodge County #2

3. Ben Buske - Dodge County #2

4. Brooke Roberts - Manitowoc County

5. Brianna Hall - Vernon County

6. Erica Helmer - Sheboygan County

7. Emma Olstad - Dane County

8. Eva Doornink - St Croix County

9. Rachel Coyne - Pierce County

10. Derek Utecht - St Croix County

11. Colin Uecker - Jefferson County

12. Vanessa Roberts - Manitowoc County

13. Jen Krull - Shawano County

14. Paul Grulke - Dodge County #1

15. Jake Siemers - Manitowoc County