Participants selected for 2019 Farm Bureau Leadership Institute

Wisconsin State Farmer

MADISON – Fourteen emerging agricultural leaders have been selected to participate in the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Leadership Institute. This year-long leadership training program’s mission is to develop strong and effective agricultural leaders.

Farm Bureau logo

“Today’s farmers and agriculturists must take the lead to be advocates for their farms and agribusinesses,” said Wendy Kannel, Director of Training and Leadership Development for Wisconsin Farm Bureau. “The Institute gives participants the skills and confidence necessary to lead the future of farming and agriculture in their county Farm Bureau, local community and beyond.”

Members of the 2019 Farm Bureau Leadership Institute class are:  Brenda Dowiasch, Augusta; John Eron, Stevens Point; Christine Gerbitz, Milton; Dawn Gibson, Eau Claire; Mike Harms, Darlington; Lindsey Hellenbrand, Waunakee; John Herman, Stevens Point; Ashley Hoffman, Merrill; Bridget Manthey, Belleville; Amber McComish, Darlington; Jaime Sawle, Omro; Scott Timm, Monroe; Kellie Zahn, Marion; and Katie Zoromski, Marathon.

The Leadership Institute consists of five, multi-day sessions which provide hands-on learning on agricultural issues, leadership development and speaking skills, interaction with Farm Bureau staff and government leaders at the state and national levels and networking with other participants. The class capstone event will be a trip, with the WFBF Board of Directors, to Washington, D.C. in March 2020.

Farm Bureau members interested in applying for the 2020 class may contact Wendy Kannel at 608.828.5719 or email