Farm Bureau names Achievement Award finalists


MADISON – Four finalists will vie for the Wisconsin Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer and Agriculturist Achievement Award this December.

Dustin and Ashley Ellis

“This year’s finalists are some of the best and brightest young farmers in Wisconsin,” said WFBF President Jim Holte.

The YFA program is open to Farm Bureau members between the ages of 18 and 35. The Achievement Award recognizes YFA members who excel in production farming, leadership ability and involvement in Farm Bureau and other organizations. Achievement Award applicants must have derived a majority of their income from on-farm production during the past three years.

John and Ashley Claussen

This year’s finalists include:

Josh and Ashley Claussen, Brown County

Brian Douglas, Dunn County

Dustin and Ashley Ellis, Buffalo County

Ryan and Lindsey Prahl, Marathon County

Ryan and Lindsey Prahl

Each finalist must fill out an application by October 1. A three-judge panel will score those applications and conduct an interview with the four finalists at the 2018 WFBF Annual Meeting and YFA Conference at Kalahari Resorts in Wisconsin Dells, November 30 – December 2.

The Wisconsin Farm Bureau Foundation co-sponsors this contest with GROWMARK Inc. and Rural Mutual Insurance Company. Information and applications for all YFA contests can be downloaded from WFBF’s website,

Brian Douglas

This year’s state winner competes at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 2019 Annual Conference in New Orleans. In addition, Rural Mutual Insurance Company provides a free financial plan for the state winner and Fabick Cat Equipment provides the state winner with 40 hours use of a skid-steer loader.

Last year’s winners of the Achievement Award were Chad and Katrina Gleason from Lafayette County.