Waupaca FFA is state winner of national chapter honor third year in a row

Colleen Kottke
Wisconsin State Farmer
Waupaca FFA has been named the top FFA Chapter in the state for the third year in a row.

MADISON -  It was a 3-peat for the Waupaca FFA chapter as the central Wisconsin chapter was named the state winner of the National Chapter Award at the Wisconsin FFA Convention for the third year in a row. 

Waupaca earned that honor out of 250 FFA chapters across the state and will advance to the national competition, if selected as one of the top ten chapters nationally. If tapped the chapter will have the honor of hosting the Wisconsin Hall of States Booth at the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Ind., in October.

This marks the 13th time in the past 18 years that Waupaca FFA has earned first place among state chapters at the state convention. The chapter is led by advisors Jennifer Erb and Rene Lehnam.

Earning runner-up honors is Stanley-Boyd FFA lead by advisor Jordon Donnerbauer and third place finisher, Denmark FFA led by advisor Mary Handrich.

To be considered for national awards, the National Chapter application requires a chapter to show achievement in three areas: student, chapter and community activities. 

Those chapters applying for the National Chapter Award program receive a gold, silver or bronze rating. Gold chapters advancing to national competition include: Amery, Badger, Barron, Beaver Dam, Big Foot, Cochrane-Fountain City, Columbus, DeForest, Denmark, Freedom, Granton, Kiel, Manawa, Mishicot, Pardeeville, Prairie Farm, Sauk Prairie, Shullsburg, Stanley-Boyd, Tomah, Waupaca, Waupun, Weyauwega-Fremont, Whitehall, and Winneconne.

2018 Wisconsin FFA Convention

Chapters receiving a silver ranking include: Adams-Friendship, Baldwin-Woodville, Baraboo, Bay Port, Bloomer, Burlington, Colby, Ellsworth, Fennimore, Lodi, Marshall, Mauston, Milton, New London, Oconto Falls, Owen-Withee, Randolph Cambria-Friesland, Reedsburg, River Valley, Seymour, Shell Lake, Spooner, Verona.

FFA chapters from Boscobel, Platteville and Bonduel earned a bronze ranking.

National Chapter:Growing Leaders winners (listed in ranked order): Waupaca, Denmark, Stanley-Boyd, Manawa, Sauk Prairie, Badger, Cochrane-Fountain City, Prairie Farm, Big Foot, and Winneconne.

National Chapter:Building Communities Winners (listed in ranked order): Waupaca, Denmark, Stanley-Boyd, Badger, Columbus, Weyauwega-Fremont, Beaver Dam, Waupun, Freedom, and Manawa

National Chapter:Strengthening Agriculture Winners (listed in ranked order): Waupaca, Columbus, Freedom, Big Foot, Manawa, Cochrane-Fountain City, Stanley-Boyd, Badger, Kiel, and Denmark.

Food for America

The Food for America Program recognizes outstanding chapters who are promoting agricultural products and knowledge to elementary school children. All chapters applying are ranked gold, silver, and bronze. The top ten chapters will be awarded trophies at the Wisconsin State FFA Convention. Cash awards are awarded to the top five chapters.

This year's top chapter was Waupaca followed by Weyauwega-Fremont (2); Stevens Point (3), Manawa (4), Big Foot (5), Adams-Friendship (6), Badger (7); Barron (8), Denmark (9) and Brodhead (10).

Silver rated chapters include: Amery, Brillion, Columbus and Hartford. Receiving a bronze rating was Lake Mills, Markesan and Platteville.