Top FFA members compete for Stars Over Wisconsin honors

Colleen Kottke
Wisconsin State Farmer

MADISON - Twenty-three candidates vying for the most prestigious awards presented to FFA members at the state level have been announced.

Twenty-three candidates are vying for the most prestigious awards presented to FFA members at this year's Wisconsin FFA Convention. 2016-17 State President Brenna Bay (left) congratulates last year's winners of the Stars Over Wisconsin competition. Joining her are (from left) Carley Krull, Lake Mills FFA, Wisconsin Star Farmer, Amelia Hayden, Big Foot FFA, Wisconsin Star in Agriscience, Dylon Pokorny, Waupun FFA, Wisconsin Star in Agribusiness and Erica Helmer, Plymouth FFA, Wisconsin Star in Ag Placement.

Four FFA members will be honored as 'Stars Over Wisconsin' during the sixth session at the 2018 Wisconsin FFA Convention at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison. The program will begin at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 13.

Krull was among four FFA members honored with the most prestigious award awarded at the state level

During the week of the convention, June 11-14, the Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) programs of the State FFA Star finalists will be on display in the lobby of the Exhibition Hall, detailing the tremendous amount of time and effort that finalists put into their projects.

Finalists for the State Star Farmer, Star in Agribusiness, Star in Agricultural Placement and Star in Agriscience will gather on stage to learn which of them will be selected to stand atop the podium in the Stars Over Wisconsin contest.

Candidates for each of these respective awards are:

Star Farmer

The Star Farmer Award recognizes students who have expanded their knowledge and own/operate an agricultural related enterprise where they have mastered skills in production, finance and ownership management.

Vying for this award is Emily Pintens, Barron FFA; Alexis Kwak, Prairie Farm FFA; Brandon Cafferty, Cochrane-Fountain City FFA; Brianna Leahy, Shullsburg FFA; Mikayla Endres, Lodi FFA; Sarah Albers, Sauk Prairie FFA; Devin Zimmerman, Waupun FFA; Jillian Tyler, Granton FFA; Colin Wussow, Bonduel FFA; and Taylor Eilers, Waupaca FFA.

Star in Ag Placement

The Star in Agriculture Placement Award recognizes students who have logged numerous hours at an agriculture related business.

Vying for this award is Hannah Nelson, Ellsworth FFA; Naomi Fogel, Cochrane-Fountain City FFA; Shad Goplin, Whitehall FFA; Lance Lierman, Shullsburg FFA; Mikayla Endres, Lodi FFA; Levi Alsum, Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA; Edwin Schott, Sauk Prairie FFA; Logan Pluim, Waupun FFA; Mason Gukenberger, Marshfield FFA; and Brandon Strupp, Hartford FFA.

Star in Agribusiness

Star Agribusiness Award that recognizes students who have taken an active role in owning and operating their own business.

Vying for this award is Anne Runde, Janesville-Craig FFA and Logan Paul, Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA.

Star in Agriscience

The Star in Agriscience Award recognizes the students who have created and developed their own science experience, conducted research and evaluated results using scientific data and technology.

This year's finalist is Danielle Wrzesinski, Big Foot FFA

Each of the candidates will receive a plaque, with the top winners of each award also earning cash prizes. The finalists were selected according to the amount of money earned in their Supervised Agricultural Experience Program.