Wisconsin couple among National OYF finalists


Sam and Jenn Zimmerman, of Ringle, WI, have been selected as one of the top ten National Finalists vying for the designation as National Winner of the Outstanding Young Farmer (NOYF) Award.

Sam and Jenn Zimmerman of Ringle, WI, (center) are among the top 10 finalists vying for the  National Winner of the Outstanding Young Farmer Award.

The Zimmerman’s were selected as 2017 Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmers and operate ON-Q Holsteins which consists of 165 milking cows and 180 Holstein heifers and run 450 acres of which 300 are tillable.

To make the operation successful, Sam has utilized genetic testing, embryo transfer, in-vitro fertilization, and sexed semen. To supplement the genetics of the initial herd of 50 cows, additional purchases of high quality registered Holsteins have allowed the Zimmermans to chalk up a few achievements.

The Zimmermans are committed to good conservation practices in order to make their farm sustainable for the generations to come. A stream runs through the middle of their property, so a riparian buffer was developed. In addition, a host of trees have been planted over the years.

In addition to the farm Jenn has started a business of her own assisting companies with with business functions, talent strategy, strategic planning, and vendor management and more.

Sam and Jenn are active in their community and work to impact the next generation by promoting agriculture and serving their lord. In 2010, they hosted the June Dairy Breakfast for Marathon County. They are also involved in Farm Bureau, County DHIA, 4-H, Little Britches fair program, and their church.

For 62 years, young farmers have been honored for their personal achievements in the field of agriculture service to their community, state and nation.

The NOYF program was founded in 1955 by the U. S. Junior Chamber and is now administered by the Outstanding Farmers of America (OFA). Each year the OFA holds the National Outstanding Young Farmer Congress in a different state to honor a new class of 10 national finalists and name the 4 National Outstanding Young Farmer winners.

The 2018 event will be Wisconsin’s 65th Anniversary of hosting the event and will be held in Watertown, WI the weekend of January 26-28, 2018.