Wisconsin Holstein Association awards scholarships to members

Wisconsin State Farmer
Wisconsin Holstein Association


BARABOO - The Wisconsin Holstein Association awarded nearly $14,000 in scholarships to 15 youth in 2017.

Scholarships were awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year University. These outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the 2018 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention, to be held in Stevens Point.

Amanda Gehrke of Arpin, will receive the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program.

Gehrke is the 18-year-old daughter of Gary Gerhke and Kerry Peterson. She has attended one year of Farm and Industry Short Course at UW-Madison and plans to return this fall to continue her education. Gerhke's goal is to continue growing her herd of Registered Holsteins and to some day own an art studio where she sells her dairy related artwork.

Receiving the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Meikah Dado of Amery. This scholarship is in honor of Doris, who was a longtime Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden's brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years.

Dado is the 18-year-old daughter of Rick and Gwen Dado. She is a freshman at the University of Wisconsin-Madison studying life sciences communications and dairy science. Upon graduation Dado hopes to be an advocate for the dairy industry with either a dairy company or a state dairy promotions organization.

Kalista Hodorff of Eden will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad, who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau. The scholarship was established by Brad's parents, Brian and Wendy Fust, with the sale of one of Brad's heifers.

Hodorff is the 17-year-old daughter of Corey and Tammy Hodorff. She is a senior at Campbellsport High School with plans to attend the University of Wisconsin - Madison in the fall and major in dairy science with a minor in Spanish.

Hannah Nelson of Ellsworth will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors John - an active member of the Green County Junior Holstein Association and the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Junior Activities Committee. This scholarship was established by John's parents, Richard and Roxanne Klossner, and is given to a student furthering their education at a four-year University.

Nelson is the 17-year-old daughter of Marc Nelson and Tracy Mitchell. She is a senior at Ellsworth High School with plans to study agricultural business and marketing and dairy science at the University of Wisconsin - River Falls.

Receiving the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship is Paige Nelson of Ellsworth. This scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird - an active Wisconsin and National Holstein Association member in various capacities for numerous years.

Paige is the 19-year-old daughter of Marc Nelson and Tracy Mitchell and is a freshman at the University of Wisconsin - River Falls, where she is studying agricultural business and dairy science. Nelson hopes to work as a pharmaceutical sales representative within the dairy industry after graduation.

Courtney Moser of Westby will receive the $1000 Marlowe Nelson Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is given in honor of Marlowe whose passion was to teach and mentor young enthusiastic breeders to become more involved in the Registered Holstein business. Throughout his lifetime, Marlowe paved the way in many aspects of the Registered Holstein breed and its impact on the United States, Japan, Germany and Holland dairy industries.

Moser is the 18-year-old daughter of Cary and Joy Moser. She is a senior at Westby Area High School and plans to attend Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa, to study journalism and communications with a focus on agriculture.

Nine additional well-deserving Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Summer Henschel of Chilton; Jenna Broege of Janesville; Mikayla Endres of Lodi; Lindsey Sarbacker of Edgerton; Mitchell Schroepfer of Birnamwood; Paige Hoesly of Whitewater; Paul Grulke of Mayville; Amber Dammen of Argyle; Logan Voigts of Platteville.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the 2018 Junior Holstein Convention banquet in January, where they will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship for the 2017-2018 year as well.

Receiving scholastic achievement scholarships during the 2016-2017 year for being recognized as National Distinguished Junior Member representatives in 2017 are Logan Voigts of Platteville; Kristen Broege of Janesville; Austin Nauman of Sparta; Carley Krull of Lake Mills; Brooke Trustem of Evansville.