Directors elected to Wisconsin Cherry board

Now Media Group


Wisconsin's cherry producers have elected five directors to the industry's market order board. The new directors begin their positions July 1.

Elected to serve three-year terms are James Seaquist of Ellison Bay and Glenn Musil of Sturgeon Bay. Elected to serve two-year terms are Danny Krowas of Baileys Harbor and Barry Peterson of Green Bay. Elected to serve a one-year term is Lee Petrina of Algoma.

The five-member Wisconsin Cherry Board is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about $53,000 in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin cherry producers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Cherry Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state.