Partnerships between DNR and Wisconsin's conservation groups aid landowners, habitat

Now Media Group


Wisconsin is known far and wide for the quality of its hunting and wildlife viewing, and the Farm Bill wildlife biologist program continues to play a key role in habitat management and restoration statewide.

Pheasants Forever Farm Bill wildlife biologists, built through partnerships between the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Natural Resource Conservation Service and Pheasants Forever (all links exit DNR) chapters, work one-on-one with private landowners to prescribe site-specific wildlife management recommendations. Since the inception of this partnership in 2007, Pheasants Forever biologists have helped 8,285 landowners manage 49,550 acres.

Farm Bill wildlife biologists also assist in finding funding for habitat projects on private lands through assisting landowners with voluntary Farm Bill conservation program enrollment. These diverse conservation programs address a wide range of natural resource issues, including the creation and maintenance of wildlife habitat and implementation of ecologically friendly farming practices.

Farm Bill wildlife biologists also collaborate with DNR staff through wildlife monitoring activities and state programs like Adopt a Wildlife Area, the Voluntary Public Access program, and the Deer Management Assistance Program. Wisconsin Farm Bill wildlife biologist positions are funded in part by DNR wildlife stamp funds, generated through the sale of hunting stamps.

'The Farm Bill Biologists play a critical role in helping all three of the partners meet their common missions by helping private landowners put conservation practices on the ground.' Greg Kidd, NRCS assistant state conservationist.

Currently, seven Farm Bill wildlife biologists serve the following counties:

✔ Trenton Brenny - Adams, Waushara, Marquette, Green Lake, Fond du Lac, Sheboygan, Columbia, Dodge, Washington and OzaukeeCounties;

✔ Scott Stipetich - Sawyer, Price, Ashland/Iron, Bayfield, Douglas, Washburn, Burnett, Polk, Barron, Saint Croix, Pierce, Rusk, Taylor, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Jackson, Dunn, Pepin, Buffalo and Trempealeau Counties;

✔ Erin Holmes - La Crosse, Monroe, Juneau, Vernon, Sauk, Richland, Crawford, Grant, Lafayette, Green and Iowa Counties;

✔ Julie Peterson - Brown, Door, Calumet, Forest, Florence, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Onieda, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca, Winnebago and Wood Counties;

✔ Cody Tromberg - Saint Croix, Washburn, Burnett, Polk, Barron, Pierce and Pepin Counties;

✔ Gretchen Oleson - Green, Rock, Jefferson, Waukesha, Milwaukee, Union Grove, Kenosha and Walworth Counties; and

✔ Becky Davis - Adams, Clark, Marathon, Portage, Wood, Lincoln, Langlade, Juneau, Waushara and Waupaca Counties

For more information regarding Farm Bill conservation programs in Wisconsin, visit To learn more about Farm Bill wildlife biologists and for contact information, visit