Potato growers elect three directors

Now Media Group


Wisconsin's potato growers have elected an at-large director and re-elected two directors to the industry's market order board.

Elected as the at-large director and representing all districts is Andy Dierks of Coloma. Re-elected in District 1 is Keith Wolter, Antigo; and re-elected in District 2 is Clifford Gagas, Custer. The three directors will serve three-year terms starting July 1.

The three districts involved in the election represent the following counties:

District 1 — Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.

District 2 — Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca and Waushara counties.

District 3 — Adams, Buffalo, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago and Wood counties

The nine-member Wisconsin Potato Industry Board is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about $1.5 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin potato growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. To learn more about the market order boards, visit