2016 Milk Marketing Board results

Now Media Group


Ben Brancel, secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, certified the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board 2016 Board of Directors election results on June 7.

Starting July 1, 2016, the following dairy producers (representing indicated districts) will begin three-year terms as elected WMMB members: Mark Leder, Gleason, District 3 (Lincoln, Oneida, Price, and Taylor counties); Vivian Thompson, Cadott, District 6 (Chippewa and Eau Claire counties); Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg, District 9 (Shawano and Waupaca counties).

Ken Heiman, Marshfield, District 12 (Portage, Waushara, and Wood counties); Mary Cook, Wilton, District 15 (Adams, Juneau, and Monroe counties); Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls, District 18 (Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha counties) Kevin Wallaser, Desoto, District 21 (Crawford and Vernon counties) and Tina Hinchley, Cambridge, District 24 (Dane and Jefferson counties).

WMMB directors guide the organization's finances, formulate and set its policies and long-range business plan, and maintain its mission: 'To help grow demand for Wisconsin milk by providing programs that enhance the competitiveness of the Wisconsin Dairy Industry.'

Through these initiatives, a WMMB director has the opportunity to represent Wisconsin dairy producers and products, as well as become involved in activities that inform and educate consumers.

About the 2016 Election

There were nine certified candidates running for eight board member positions. Of the 3,233 dairy producers living in the election districts, per DATCP records, 12 percent returned ballots. That number is down from 13 percent in 2015, 15 percent in 2014, 21 percent in 2013 and 18 percent in 2012.

District 9, which had two candidates, recorded the most election participation with 22.2 percent of eligible producers in that district's voting. The election closed May 25, 2016.

For more information on WMMB and the 2016 election, visit This site also contains newly elected director biography information.