Farmers Union presents Golden Triangle to Sen. Tammy Baldwin

Wisconsin State Farmer
The Wisconsin Farmers Union delegation presented the Golden Triangle Award to Senator Tammy Baldwin during the NFU Fly-In to Washington, D.C. Sept. 13.

CHIPPEWA FALLS – This week National Farmers Union recognized 33 U.S. Senators and Representatives who have demonstrated leadership and support at the federal policymaking level for family farmers, ranchers and their rural communities. Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) was among this year’s honorees.

The Golden Triangle Award, the family farm organization’s highest legislative honor, was presented to Sen. Baldwin today during NFU’s Fall Legislative Fly-In.

“We are proud of the work Senator Baldwin has done on behalf of Wisconsin’s family farmers,” said Wisconsin Farmers Union President Von Ruden. “She recognizes the importance of our agricultural community in Wisconsin, works hard to elevate the issues impacting family farms, and continues to be a strong advocate for rural Wisconsin.”

Sen. Baldwin has been a champion of agriculture in her role on the Senate Appropriations Committee. In May, she was among a group of Senators who sent a letter to President Trump, voicing concerns about deep cuts in his proposed budget, which would dramatically reduce or eliminate rural development programs within the U.S. Department of Agriculture. She also stressed the importance of investing in rural communities and infrastructure, including the expansion of broadband access.

WFU values the attention she has brought to dairy farmers’ struggles under declining milk prices, and hopes to continue working with Sen. Baldwin and other legislators to improve the livelihood of farmers and balance market volatility in the dairy industry.

“The Golden Triangle Award recognizes farm and food champions in Congress that display outstanding leadership on the issues that are important to both our industry and our organization,” said NFU President Roger Johnson. “We’re appreciative of their insight and devotion to securing the nation’s food supply for the good of both American family farmers and consumers.”

The Golden Triangle Award is based on NFU’s symbol, a triangle with the three sides noting Farmers Union’s three-fold efforts in legislation, cooperation and education. The awards have been presented every year since 1988.

The 2017 recipients of the Golden Triangle Award are:

Senator Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin

Senator Michael Bennet, Colorado

Senator Sherrod Brown, Ohio

Senator Bob Casey, Pennsylvania

Senator Steve Daines, Montana

Senator Dick Durbin, Illinois

Senator Al Franken, Minnesota

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, New York

Senator Heidi Heitkamp, North Dakota

Senator John Hoeven, North Dakota

Senator Amy Klobuchar, Minnesota

Senator Ed Markey, Massachusetts

Senator Claire McCaskill, Missouri

Senator Jeff Merkley, Oregon

Senator Christopher Murphy, Connecticut

Senator Gary Peters, Michigan

Senator Chuck Schumer, New York

Senator Debbie Stabenow, Michigan

Senator Jon Tester, Montana

Representative Cheri Bustos, Illinois

Representative Rosa DeLauro, Connecticut

Representative Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska

Representative Tulsi Gabbard, Hawaii

Representative Marcy Kaptur, Ohio

Representative Ann Kuster, New Hampshire

Representative Dave Loebsack, Iowa

Representative Michelle Lujan Grisham, New Mexico

Representative Jim McGovern, Massachusettes

Representative Rick Nolan, Minnesota

Representative Nancy Pelosi, California

Representative Collin Peterson, Minnesota

Representative Chellie Pingree, Maine

Representative Tim Walz, Minnesota