MADISON - At the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) annual reorganization meeting held recently, WMMB directors elected officers to lead the organization through the next fiscal year, which began July 1 and will conclude June 30, 2018. 

Prior to the election of officers, newly elected directors were officially seated on the board. Julie Veldhuis will represent District 10 (Brown, Door and Kewaunee counties); Robert Sendelbach will represent District 13 (Buffalo, Pepin and Pierce counties); and Janet Clark will represent District 16 (Fond du Lac, Green Lake and Marquette counties).  

Elected to serve as Board Chair was Jeff Strassburg (Wittenburg, District 9). Dean Strauss, (Sheboygan Falls, District 18) will serve as Vice Chair. Secretary will be Steven Sternweis, (Marshfield, District 8) and Treasurer is Jay Stauffacher, (Darlington, District 23). Also elected to serve on the seven-person Executive Committee were Ben Peterson, (Grantsburg, District 1) Chair, Communications Committee; Ken Heiman (Marshfield, District 12) Chair, Channel Management Committee; and Kay Zwald (Hammond, District 9) Chair, Policy/Bylaw Committee. 

Additionally, David Bangart (Greenwood, District 7) was elected to serve as Chair of the Center for Dairy Research (CDR) liaison committee. WMMB continues to support the efforts of the much-respected CDR through funding, research, collaboration and technical support. 

The WMMB Board of Directors is comprised of 25 dairy farmers who are elected by their peers for three-year terms.  WMMB’s directors set policies and procedures, supervise business affairs and approve annual budgets.

For more information about WMMB programs and promotions, visit  

Read or Share this story: