Wisconsin 4-H Quiz Bowl, Skillathon winners announced

Now Media Group


The Wisconsin 4-H Quiz Bowl and Skillathon contests were both held on Saturday, March 5, at the University of Wisconsin Madison Animal Sciences Building.

Livestock Quiz Bowl is a competition where questions are about beef, sheep, swine and meat goat topics and students use a buzzer in order to answer. Teams compete in a double elimination format by giving oral answers to questions posed by a judge. Each match has both an individual and toss-up question round. A group discussion round is included in the senior division to simulate the national competition.

The senior team winner represents Wisconsin at the National 4-H Quiz Bowl contest at AKSARBEN in Omaha, NE, in September. Winner of the senior division (14 years of age or older) was Dodge County. Members included Tim Rynearson, Natalie Siedschlag, Morgan Wollin and Amalia Adrian, and coaches were Christine and John Siedschlag.

Second place in Senior Quiz Bowl went to Sheboygan County. Members were Morgan Kitzerow, Megan Hand, Caden Nicolaus and Hannah Schleicher. The team was coached by Liz Gartman and Michelle Klemme.

Winner of the Junior Quiz Bowl division (under 14 years old) was Marathon County A. Members included Haley Kzanowski, Danika Griepentrog, Elliot Bauer, Allison Leonard and Alexa Leonard. This team was coached by Mark Zimmerman.

Second place went to Iowa County Jr. Team A. Members included Noelle Elfering, Bree Gaffney and Morgan Vondra, and it was coached by Valerie Gaffney.

Winner of the Mixed division (must contain at least one youth from each age division) was Marathon County. Members included Stephanie Witberler, Kailen Smerchek, Cortney Zimmerman and Josh Leonard, and the team was coached by Mark Zimmerman. Juneau County was second place. Members included Daniel Walsh, Clayton Walsh, Dawson Firlus and Dravan Robinson. It was coached by Lisa Walsh and Todd Cherney.

In the Skillathon contest, participants complete a 25-question written test and four individual skill-a-thon stations where contestants take part in livestock breed identification, feed identification, equipment identification and meat identification. The final portion is the team exercises where each team works together to best solve four different scenarios involving live animals/concepts. This phase helps youth learn problem solving, critical thinking and teamwork.

The winning 4-H Skillathon team was from Grant County and will represent Wisconsin at the National 4-H Quiz and Skillathon Contest in Louisville, KY, in November. It was coached by Dennis Patterson. Members included Amber Patterson, Dillin Meier, Mathew Walz, Paul Connolly and Jessica Anderson.

The second-place senior team was Iowa County Team A, which included Haakon Schriefer, Nathan Daniels and Noah Lawinger. This team was coached by Valerie Gaffney.

The Top Ten Overall Senior Skillathon Individuals were Amber Patterson, Grant, Dillin Meier, Grant, Morgan Fitzsimmons, Iowa, Libby Knoebel, Jefferson, Zach Mickelson, Columbia, Natalie Siedschlag, Dodge, Hannah Schultz, Jefferson, Dyllan Griepentrog, Marathon, Paul Connolly, Grant, and Emilie Pauls, Marathon.

Sheboygan County A topped the junior division. Members included Aaron Schleicher, Isaac Kohlman, Brayden Peter, Alisha Klemme. They were coached by Liz Gartman and Michelle Klemme. Second place was Iowa County A. Team members were Morgan Vondra, Kelly Gaffney, and Nicole Elfering. The team was coached by Val Gaffney.

Top Ten Overall Junior Skillathon Individuals were Morgan Vondra, Iowa County, Riley Kappell, Dodge County, Jessica Patterson, Grant County, Tyler Giddings, Marathon B, Isaac Kohlman, Sheyboygan County, Samantha Rake, Columbia County, Gabby Wohlrab, Juneau C, Alisha Klemme, Sheboygan County, Ryan Stetzer, Jackson County, and Aaron Schleicher, Sheboygan.

In the mixed division, Marathon County A was first place. Members included Stephanie Witberler, Kailen Smerchek, Cortney Zimmerman and Josh Leonard coached by Mark Zimmerman. Jackson County was second place. Team members were Rachel Moseley, Kaitlyn Stetzer, Trent Laufenberg, Austin Laufenberg. The team was coached by Jessie Oberlin.

The Top Ten Overall Mixed Skillathon Individuals were Kailen Smerchek, Marathon County, Stephanie Witberler, Marathon A, Cortney Zimmerman, Marathon A, Allison Peters, Langlade County, Rachel Moseley, Jackson County, Ryan McKibben, Marathon County, Kaitlyn Stetzer, Jackson County, Daniel Walsh, Juneau County, Jillian Becker, Ozaukee County, and Jessica Mejchar, Ozaukee County.

These events was organized and facilitated by Bernie O'Rourke, UW Extension Youth Livestock Specialist, Alissa Grenawalt, Outreach Specialist, and partially funded by the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation. Numerous judges and helpers from University of Wisconsin-Extension, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Platteville, and River Falls assisted in the success of these contests.