Delaware's Wilkins assumes presidency of American Soybean Association

Now Media Group


Richard Wilkins, a farmer from Greenwood, DE, assumes the role of president of the American Soybean Association following his confirmation earlier this afternoon by the ASA Board of Directors at their annual winter meeting in St. Louis.

Outgoing president Wade Cowan from Brownfield, Texas, moves to the position of chairman of the ASA board, and Ron Moore of Roseville, IL, was elected to serve as vice president.

'I'm honored to serve as president of this wonderful team of farmers, and I'm excited to move forward with what is a very full agenda for the year,' said Wilkins.

'Richard is a smart leader who has a great purchase on how our industry can engage with our partners in other walks of agriculture to make sure we're all successful,' said ASA CEO Steve Censky.

With his election as vice president, Moore is now in line to be the association's president in 2016.

'These are an extremely important next few years for our industry,' said Moore. 'The soybean industry and agriculture as a whole will need continuity and strength in its leadership, and I'm excited to continue that here at ASA.'

Also elected to form ASA's nine-member governing committee were Secretary John Heisdorffer from Keota, Iowa; and At-Large Governing Board Members Bret Davis of Delaware, Ohio, Kevin Hoyer of West Salem, Wisc., Kevin Scott of Valley Springs, S.D., and Sam Butler of New Hope, Ala.. Current Treasurer Davie Stephens of Wingo, Ky., was elected to serve a second term in the same position.

Rotating off the ASA governing committee is outgoing chairman Ray Gaesser of Corning, Iowa, who will remain on the ASA board for the remainder of his term as director.

'Helping to guide this organization has been a real joy for me, and I am proud of how far we've come,' said Gaesser, during whose presidency ASA successfully advocated the passage of the 2014 Farm Bill.

'Ray deserves a great deal of credit for the strong advocacy ASA has provided for soybean farmers over the last three years, and we're a better organization for it,' Wilkins said.

ASA's meeting also served as a venue to celebrate the retirements of former president Steve Wellman of Nebraska, former treasurer Bob Henry of Kansas, and directors Dennis Bogaards of Iowa, John Rivers of South Carolina and Walter Godwin of Georgia.

Assuming positions on the Board as new members at the meeting are Charles Atkinson of Kansas, Cliff Barron of South Carolina, Ken Boswell of Nebraska, and Dean Coleman of Iowa. The meeting also represents the first ASA meeting for directors Pam Snelson of Oklahoma, and Steve Yoder, Jr., of Florida.