MADISON – Winning the National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest for the third year in a row was the team from Wisconsin. This group, placing first in both overall and reasons, consists of team members Abigail Powers, Benjamin Styer, Marie Haase and Fritzy Ullom, and coaches James Powers and Scott Nelson.

Earning a runner-up finish overall and third in reasons was the Ohio team of Marissa Topp, Derek Burns, Heath Starkey and Lindsay L’Amoreaux, coached by Sherry Smith.

Marie Haase of Wisconsin was named high individual overall as well as high individual in reasons with teammate Benjamin Styer placing fourth overall as well as reasons. Abigail Powers placed seventh in individual reasons.

The National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest is made possible in part through generous support of Platinum Level Sponsor, Bayer Crop Science; Gold Level Sponsor, STgenetics and Westway Feed Products; Silver Sponsors, Bio-Vet, Inc., Lakeshore Federated Dairy Cooperative and Masters Choice Hybrids; and additional supporters.

Top Headlines from Wisconsin Farmer:

Farmer’s hoping for better future as 2019 runs out.

2019: A season of rain and planting-harvesting delays.

Faith based winter markets helps farmers get through the slow season

Read or Share this story: