Governor Walker announces availability of emergency loans for farmers due to April blizzard damage

Wisconsin State Farmer
Governor Scott Walker discusses damage from April snowstorms and ways to help the agricultural community at Sievert Farms in Sobieski on April 25.

MADISON – Governor Scott Walker announced on June 7, that farmers in 52 Wisconsin counties may qualify for emergency loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to help with losses sustained in the mid-April blizzard.

“Wisconsin’s farmers are a key part of our state’s economy, our history, and our future,” said Governor Walker. “We’re happy to announce that new resources may be available for farmers to help them overcome the damages from April’s snow storms. We are always listening to the needs of our farmers and look forward to working with them in the future to support our farming industry.”

The disaster designation by the Farm Service Agency Administrator means that low-interest emergency loans are available to farmers who had severe physical losses from snow and high winds during the April 13-15 storm.

Counties included in the disaster designation are: Barron, Brown, Burnett, Door, Dunn, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Jackson, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Marinette, Monroe, Oconto, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, Trempealeau, Washburn, Waupaca and Wood.

In addition, eligible farmers in counties bordering the disaster counties may also receive loans. Those counties are: Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dodge, Douglas, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Juneau, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Pepin, Pierce, Price, St. Croix, Sheboygan, Taylor, Vernon, Washington, Waushara and Winnebago.

Farmers have eight months to apply for the loans. Farmers should contact their local USDA Farm Service Agency office for more information on loan eligibility and the application process.