Ag Faces in the crowd

Wisconsin State Farmer

Reinemann is CALS associate dean

Doug Reinemann, chair of the Department of Biological Systems Engineering, has been named CALS associate dean for extension and outreach. In this role, Reinemann will be in charge of the organization, content, and effectiveness of the college’s extension and outreach programs, as well as aligning CALS programs with those of UW-Extension Cooperative Extension.

Doiug Reinemann

Reinemann joined the Department of Biological Systems Engineering and Cooperative Extension in 1990. Since then, Reinemann has served as a professor and a UW-Extension milking equipment/energy specialist. His research and outreach experience has largely focused on machine milking systems, rural energy issues, renewable energy technology and sustainable biofuels production.

Over the years, he has created various Extension programs for industry stakeholders that have been shared broadly. His “MilkTech” programs, for instance, were developed in dialog with industry to meet the needs of milking machine technicians, and these programs continue to be delivered around the state, as well as nationally and internationally.

He will assume the associate dean position on January 1, 2018 and will have an office in Ag Hall.

David Cooper

Cooper resigns as FarmFirst Dairy Coop GM

David Cooper has resigned as general manager of FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative, effective Dec. 31, 2017. Cooper has been serving the cooperative and its members since 2006, originally as general manager of Family Dairies USA, then as assistant general manager for FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative during 2013, and finally the past four years as the general manager for FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative. FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative was established in 2013 and is based in Madison, Wis.

Ashley Hagenow

Hagenow wins Crowley award

Ashley Hagnenow, a member of Arlington Prairie Producers 4H Club in Columbia County, has won the Columbia County 4-H Crowley Dairy Leadership Award.  She is the daughter of Bob and Lisa Hagenow of rural Poynette.  As a county winner, Hagenow will have the chance to compete for state-level awards, including a chance to compete for two $500 scholarships that will be awarded for continuing dairy education.  The state competition will consist of interviews conducted at the Wisconsin State Fair in August 2018. 

Trent Dado

Dado wins MFBF discussion meet

Trent Dad of Emery, WI, a student at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities is the winner of the 13th annual Minnesota Collegiate Discussion Meet. Dado is studying animal science. Students participated in two rounds and a final and were judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving. The state winner receives an expense paid trip from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsored by Christensen Farms to the American Farm Bureau Federation’s (AFBF) Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) Conference in Reno, NV.

Gary Weber

Cooperative Network taps interim president 

Cooperative Network, the statewide trade association for cooperatives in Wisconsin and Minnesota, has named Gary Weber as the organization’s Interim President & CEO. In this role, Weber will direct all activities of the two-state operations, working closely with cooperative directors, managers and employees. In his most recent role, Weber was part of the governance team with Land O’ Lakes.

Land O'Lakes, Inc. promotes Ford and Oelmann

Land O'Lakes, Inc. announced the promotions of Beth Ford and Brad Oelmann. Ford has been promoted to Chief Operating Officer, Land O'Lakes Businesses.  Her role will expand to include overall responsibility for the WinField United business.  In addition, she will continue P&L responsibility for both the Purina® Animal Nutrition and the Land O'Lakes Dairy Foods businesses and retain her previous responsibilities for system-wide Supply Chain, Operations and IT. 

Beth Ford

Oelmann was promoted to Chief Operating Officer, Land O'Lakes Services.  Oelmann was named EVP, Member Relations, Business Development Services in the Spring 2017.  His new role will bring together all services Land O'Lakes offers to its valuable coop members.  In addition to his current responsibilities for Member Services and Business Development Services, Oelmann will add overall responsibility for Land O'Lakes SUSTAIN, Crop Nutrients, FLM Harvest and Government Relations.

Brad Oelmann

Dairy Challenge Founders award recipients named

North American Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge® (NAIDC) awarded three Dairy Challenge Founders Awards during their alumni reception at World Dairy Expo in Madison. Recipients of the award included Dave Thorbahn of Select Sires, Linda Hodorff of Hodorff Enterprises, and Dr. Dave Selner of National Dairy Shrine. The Dairy Challenge Founders Award was established in 2016 to recognize volunteers with extraordinary, consistent contributions and/or distinguished service to NAIDC. Dr. Maurice Eastridge of The Ohio State University and vice chairman of the NAIDC Board of Directors, presented the awards.

Karen Oberhauser

Oberhauser is new UW Arboretum director

Karen Oberhauser began her tenure as the eighth director of the UW-Madison Arboretum on Oct. 1. Oberhauser hails from the University of Minnesota, where she was a recognized expert on monarch butterflies. She is set on furthering the Arboretum's dual missions of education and ecological restoration, while looking for ways to have these overlapping, if sometimes competing, missions complement one another. Oberhauser grew up in Clintonville, WI.

Funk elected to National Dairy Shrine Board

At the 68th annual meeting of the National Dairy Shrine, Dan Bernick of Long Grove, IA was elected President of the organization. Meanwhile, Larry Schirm, Laurelville, OH was chosen as President-Elect. Elected to the Executive Committee along with Bernick and Schirm were: Jim Dickrell, Monticello, MN, Nate Janssen, Wheaton, IL, Dr. Dennis Funk, Sun Prairie, WI and immediate past president Alicia Lamb of Oakfield, NY.  Leah Ziemba, Madison, and Marci Walker of Wisconsin Dells, are among the returning directors from Wisconsin, while Janet Keller, Oregon, WI, is one of the newly elected directors.

Todd Giesfeldt

Giesfeldt and Deininger retire from Didion

Todd Giesfeldt and John Deininger have retired from Didion after long careers. Giesfeldt started his career at Didion in 2000, and played a significant role in furthering research and development for the company. As R&D Manager, Giesfeldt oversaw technology development, concept development, and new product development. He also managed several complex research projects and served as a process engineer in the ethanol plant.

John Deininger joined Didion in 2010, bringing a wealth of knowledge in quality assurance and food safety. In his most recent role as Quality Assurance Manager, Deininger was responsible for the oversight of raw materials, work-in-process, and finished products. He also provided training in food safety and quality to Didion employees as well as technical expertise to customers.

John Deininger