Farm Bureau names Achievement Award finalists

Wisconsin State Farmer
Alex Bringe

MADISON – Four finalists will vie for the Wisconsin Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer and Agriculturist (YFA) Achievement Award this December.

“This year’s finalists are some of the best and brightest young farmers in Wisconsin,” said the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation President, Jim Holte.

Chad and Katrina Gleason

The YFA program is open to Farm Bureau members between the ages of 18 and 35. The Achievement Award recognizes YFA members who excel in production farming, leadership ability and involvement in Farm Bureau and other organizations.

Hank and Shannon Boschma

Achievement Award applicants must have derived a majority of their income from on-farm production over the past three years.
This year’s finalists include: Hank and Shannon Boschma, Marathon County; Alex Bringe, Vernon County; Chad and Katrina Gleason, Lafayette County; Ryan and Lindsey Prahl, Marathon County.
Each finalist must fill out an application by Oct. 1. A three-judge panel will score those applications and conduct an interview with the four finalists at Farm Bureau’s 2017 Annual Meeting/Young Farmer and Agriculturist Conference at the Kalahari Resorts in Wisconsin Dells, December 1 - 3, 2017.
The Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation co-sponsors this contest with GROWMARK Inc. and Rural Mutual Insurance Company. Information and applications for all YFA contests can be downloaded from WFBF’s website,
This year’s state winner competes at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 2018 Annual Conference in Nashville. In addition, Rural Mutual Insurance Company provides a free financial plan for the state winner and Fabick Cat Equipment provides the state winner with 40 hours use of a skid-steer loader.
Last year’s winners of the Achievement Award were Andrea Brossard and Mason Rens, dairy farmers from Dodge County.

Ryan and Lindsey Prahl