Waupun senior named 2017 Presidential Scholar

Wisconsin State Farmer

WASHINGTON D.C. - U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, on May 5, announced the selection of Dylon Pokorny of Waupun, who attends Waupun Junior/Senior High School in Waupun, as a 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholar.

Pokorny is one of 161 outstanding American high school seniors who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community. The U.S. Presidential Scholars will be honored for their accomplishments in Washington D.C., from June 18-20. 

Dylon Pokorny

"I congratulate this year's class of Presidential Scholars for their devotion to academic excellence and their parents and teachers who have guided them along the way,” said DeVos. “Today's Presidential Scholars are tomorrow's leaders, and I am confident they will continue to be shining examples as they enter the next phase of their academic careers.”

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. 

The 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts, and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education. 

Each U.S. Presidential Scholar is offered the opportunity to name his or her most influential teacher. Each distinguished teacher is honored with a personal letter from the Secretary of Education. 

The teacher chosen for recognition by Pokorny was Tari Costello of Waupun Junior/Senior High School in Waupun, Wisconsin.