BRATTLEBORO, VT. - Eight finalists have been named in Holstein Association USA's annual Young Distinguished Junior Member (YDJM) competition. The YDJM recognition is the highest award given to National Junior Holstein members, ages 9 to 16, and honors their dairy project work and involvement with other agricultural and community organizations.

The 2017 YDJM finalists are: Jill Allen, Jefferson, Md.; Ryan Allen, Jefferson, Md.; Regan Demmer, Peosta, Iowa; Payton Erbsen, Lanark, Ill.; Hayley Fernandes, Tulare, Calif.; Brooke Kline, Newport, Pa.; Laura Littrell, St. Johnsville, N.Y.; and Isaac Nelson, Sleepy Eye, Minn.

The eight finalists will be honored during the 2017 National Holstein Convention, June 27 – July 1 in Bellevue, WA. Applicants for the YDJM award complete an entry book, which summarizes their involvement with Holstein cattle and programs, as well as other extracurricular activities.

For more information about the YDJM contest or other Holstein youth programs, visit, or contact Kelli Dunklee at 800.952.5200, ext. 4124 or by email,

Read or Share this story: