Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board election under way

Wisconsin State Farmer
Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board

Madison — Corn growers in three Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board districts have until January 10, 2017 to vote for new members to fill open seats on the board. Positions up for election are those representing Districts 1, 2 and 7. Voting opened Dec. 15, 2016.

Nominated in District 1 is Randall Woodruff of Chippewa Falls; nominated in District 2 is Thomas Gillis of River Falls; and nominated in District 7 is Ken Rosenow of Oconomowoc.

The three districts include the following counties:

  • District 1: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Polk, Barron, Rusk, Lincoln, Chippewa, Taylor, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Jackson, Wood, Portage and Waupaca counties.
  • District 2: St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo and Trempealeau counties.
  • District 7: Green Lake, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha and Milwaukee counties.

Eligible corn growers in those districts have been mailed ballots. If you have not received your ballot call 608-224-5116 or email Debbie.Gegare@wisconsin.gov to request a ballot be mailed to you. Returned ballots must be postmarked on or before January 10, 2017 to: Wisconsin DATCP, Market Orders Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.

Voters must be careful to complete and return both sides of the ballot. Ballots without both a vote and a signature will be invalid and will not be counted. Voters may choose to write in the names of eligible representatives in the district. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotions Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state.

Each year, three of the three-year terms expire on the nine member corn promotions board. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Growing_WI/WisconsinCornPromotionBoard.aspx