Nomination period open for WI Corn Promotion Board

Wisconsin State Farmer


The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is accepting nominations for three seats on the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board. Producers who grow and sell corn in Districts 1, 2 and 7 are eligible to nominate producers or to be nominated to the board. Signed, notarized nomination forms must be postmarked by Nov. 1, 2016.

Counties represented in each district are as follows:

  • District 1: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Polk, Barron, Rusk, Lincoln, Chippewa, Taylor, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Jackson, Wood, Portage and Waupaca.
  • District 2: St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo and Trempealeau.
  • District 7: Green Lake, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha and Milwaukee.

A completed nomination form must include the signatures of five eligible corn growers other than the nominee. Completed forms must also be notarized.

DATCP’s Market Order Coordinator will mail nomination forms to any producer who requests one prior to Nov. 1, 2016. Contact Debbie Gegare, Market Order Coordinator at 608-224-5116 or at Nomination forms also may be downloaded from /About/Boards_and_Councils/Marketing_Boards. Click on the “corn” link.

Mail completed forms to WI DATCP, DAD, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911.

DATCP will conduct the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board election from December 15, 2016 through January 10, 2017. Elected growers will serve three-year terms beginning February 1, 2017.