Farm Bureau names Achievement Award finalists

Wisconsin State Farmer
Wisconsin Farm Bureau


Four finalists will vie for the Wisconsin Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer and Agriculturist (YFA) Achievement Award this December.

“This year’s finalists are some of the best and brightest young farmers in Wisconsin,” said the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation President, Jim Holte.

The YFA program is open to Farm Bureau members between the ages of 18 and 35. The Achievement Award recognizes YFA members who excel in production farming, leadership ability, and involvement in Farm Bureau and other organizations. Achievement Award applicants must have derived a majority of their income from on-farm production over the past three years.

This year’s finalists include:

Alex Bringe

Alex Bringe, Vernon County

Andrea Brossard and Mason Rens

Andrea Brossard and Mason Rens, Dodge County

Chad and Katrina Gleason

Chad and Katrina Gleason, Lafayette County

Ryan and Lindsey Prahl

Ryan and Lindsey Prahl, Marathon County

Each finalist must fill out a long-form application by October 1. A three-judge panel will score those applications and conduct an interview with the four finalists at Farm Bureau’s 2016 Annual Meeting/Young Farmer and Agriculturist Conference at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells, December 2-5, 2016.

The Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation (WFBF) co-sponsors this contest with GROWMARK Inc. and Rural Mutual Insurance Company. Information and applications for all YFA contests may be downloaded from WFBF’s website,

Each finalist receives a $50 FAST STOP gift card from GROWMARK, Inc. This year’s state winner competes at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 2017 Annual Conference in Phoenix. In addition, Rural Mutual Insurance Company provides a free financial plan for the state winner and FABCO Equipment Inc. provides the state winner with 40 hours use of a FABCO 226 skid-steer loader.

Last year’s winners of the Achievement Award were Chris and Kelly Pollack, dairy farmers from Ripon in Fond du Lac County.